8-Hours Pre-assignment Guard Card Training Class
Overview of Powers to Arrest, and Weapons of Mass Destruction. After this course students may apply for a license.
This is the required course a security guard must complete in order to receive a California Guard Registration Card (Guard Card). California law requires all security guards to be licensed through the California Department of Consumer Affairs, Bureau of Security and Investigative Services. The license is called a Guard Registration Card, or “Guard Card” for short.
Before applying for a “Guard Card”, the applicant must first complete a prescribed course to include four hours of training in the “Powers to Arrest” and four hours of course work on “Weapons of Mass Destruction.” You must be at least 18 years of age in order to apply for a guard card. The test at the end of the course is an open book, open notes test. We strongly suggest that students download and print the course manual prior to taking the test.
Note: Course fees do not include BSIS fees or LiveScan.
Mobile Support eLearning
This course supports mobile devices.
This 8-hours program is completely online. All lecture, knowledge checks and final examinations are completed online, at the student’s pace. When the student takes a break and exits the program, the system remembers the position and returns the student to the location where he or she left off.
Part 1 familiarizes and instructs the student on the training topics delineated by Business and Professions Code section 7583.7, legal aspects, techniques, liability, and company requirements relating to the arrest of an individual.